Set a Route to Private or Public

On RouteYou, you can share your routes with the community (=everyone) or keep your routes private.

Who can see a private route?

A route that you mark as ‘private’ is by default only visible to you when you are logged in with your account.

Do you still want to share the private route? You can do this in two ways:

  • With members of your group
    If you create a group and link members, then private routes that you add to that group are only visible to the group members.
    More info about groups and group members in particular.
     
  • With specific people (Premium feature)
    With a Premium account, you can use the Unlock feature to share private routes with anyone you like, without having to create a group first.
       Discover the unlock feature

Changing the private/public status

 You can only do this via the website.

  1. Log in if you haven't already done so.
  2. Search for your route.
  3. Click on the 'Edit' button (pencil potloodje.png).
  4. Then click on 'Basic Data'.
  5. Now, under 'visibility', you can set your route to private or public. Click 'Confirm' (or press ENTER).

Private/public visibility in lists

If you are logged in and search in lists, you can always see whether your route is set to public or private.

  • Routes set to private have an eye with a line through it private.svg
  • Routes set to public have an eye without a line public.svg

 

 

Was this article helpful?
9 out of 11 found this helpful