When importing or uploading a route, RouteYou offers the option to recalculate your route on existing roads where possible. This means that your raw track will be matched with RouteYou’s road and path network.
If you choose not to recalculate, your original route will remain unchanged. The shape of the route stays as it is, and no match will be made with the network. If you later open such a non-recalculated route in the route planner, you will again have the option to recalculate it. Without recalculation, you cannot further edit the route.
Learn more here about the benefits of recalculating on known roads.